Cloud User Guide

This guide provides an overview of the Directus Cloud Dashboard and explains how to use each of its features. If you have any other questions along the way, feel free to reach out to our support staff using the chat window.

Table of Contents

Creating an Account

Directus Cloud Accounts are how individual users access the platform. Creating a new account is easy and free, just go to our Register Account page and follow the prompts.

Signing In to your Account

Navigate to our Sign In page and enter your account credentials. If you forgot your account's password, you can go to our Password Reset page.

Managing your Account

You can update your account information at any time by following these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Click the Account button in the Dashboard's header
  3. Update fields: name, email, or default team
  4. Click the "Save" button
You can reset your password from your Account Settings page. Simply click the "Send Reset Link" button to start the process of changing your password.

Destroying your Account

This action is permanent and irreversible. Destroying your Directus Cloud Account completely removes all your data and assets from our platform. To destroy your Directus Cloud account, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard using the account you would like to destroy
  2. Click the Account Button in the Dashboard's header
  3. Confirm your password, and then click the "Destroy" button
You can not destroy your account if you are a member of one or more Teams. You must first leave all associated teams before destroying your account.
Action is permanent and irreversible, proceed with caution.

Creating a Team

Teams are how you organize Projects and share them across multiple accounts. They're free, so create as many as you'd like! To create a new team...

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Click the "Create New Team" option
  4. Enter a team name, unique slug, and click "Save"

Managing a Team

After signing in to the Dashboard, you will be taken to your default team (see Account Settings).

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the team you wish to manage
  4. Navigate to the "Team Settings" page

Inviting a Team Member

All members of a team can invite new members. Each invited user will receive an email with a link to accept the invitation to join the team.

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Members" page
  5. Click the "Invite Member" button
  6. Enter emails, one or more (comma separated)
  7. Click "Save Invites"

Removing a Team Member

All team members have the ability to remove other members or invites from the team.

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Members" page
  5. Click the "Remove from Team" button for the appropriate member

Leaving a Team

You can leave a team if you no longer want access, but you can not get access again without being re-invited by another member. To leave a team, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Members" page
  5. Click the "Leave Team" button for your account
You can not leave a team if you are the last member. You must either invite another member (who accepts), or destroy the team.

Destroying a Team

This action is permanent and irreversible. Destroying a Directus Cloud Team completely removes all its data from our platform (for all team members). To destroy a Directus Cloud Team, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Team Settings" page
  5. Confirm the team name in the "Destroy Team" input
  6. Click the "Destroy Team" button
You can not destroy a Team if it contains one or more Projects. Destroy any contained Projects before destroying your Team.
Action is permanent and irreversible, proceed with caution.

Creating a Private Demo

Private demos are the fastest and easiest way to give Directus a try without any commitment or payment method. These short-lived installations are created and managed directly within your Cloud Dashboard.

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Projects" page
  5. Click on the "Create Private Demo" button
  6. Access instructions and credentials will be emailed to you

Directus private demos are essentially standard Cloud Projects, with the following additional rules and restrictions in place:

  • Limited to one private demo at a time per team
  • Can not be created if your team has active projects
  • Does not allow overages above base limits
  • More aggressive caching & rate-limiting
Private demos automatically self-destruct after a two hour period.
Do not use in production or rely on these demos for any critical data. Private demo projects are offered gratis, and can be discontinued or destroyed at any point.

Creating a Project

Cloud projects are on-demand instances of Directus contained within a parent Team.

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Projects" page
  5. Click on the "Create Project" button
  6. Enter a project name, unique slug, and initial admin credentials
  7. Click the "Create Project" button
Projects can only be created within teams that have a valid payment method on file for unexpected usage overages. Project billing will only begin once any team credit has been exhausted.

Managing a Project

Once logged in to the Cloud Dashboard, click any Project to open its detail page. Below we'll cover the different features available within this section:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Projects" page
  5. Click the project you wish to manage
  6. Update the project name or slug as needed, and click "Save"

Accessing a Project

Once logged in to the Cloud Dashboard, click any Project to open its detail page, then go to the "Access" tab. From here you will have access to a large "Launch Directus" button for the Admin App, and a field containing the API's URL.

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Projects" page
  5. Click the "Launch Project" button for the desired project
API Access

You can also click into a project detail to view information about how to access the project's API. Below is an example URL for how Cloud project APIs are structured:

https://[project-slug].directus.app/

Destroying a Project

This action is permanent and irreversible. Destroying a Directus Cloud Project completely removes all its data, files, and users from our platform. To destroy a Directus Cloud Team, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Cloud Dashboard
  2. Open the Team Menu in the Dashboard's header
  3. Select the appropriate team from the dropdown
  4. Navigate to the "Projects" page
  5. Click the project you wish to delete
  6. Confirm the project's name in the input
  7. Click the "Destroy this Project" button
Proceed with extreme caution. This action will break any external apps connecting to the project API or linking to project files. This action can not be undone. Directus Cloud is not responsible for data or files lost due to this action.